Unpacking Software Livestream

Join our monthly Unpacking Software livestream to hear about the latest news, chat and opinion on packaging, software deployment and lifecycle management!

Learn More

Chocolatey Product Spotlight

Join the Chocolatey Team on our regular monthly stream where we put a spotlight on the most recent Chocolatey product releases. You'll have a chance to have your questions answered in a live Ask Me Anything format.

Learn More

Chocolatey Coding Livestream

Join us for the Chocolatey Coding Livestream, where members of our team dive into the heart of open source development by coding live on various Chocolatey projects. Tune in to witness real-time coding, ask questions, and gain insights into the world of package management. Don't miss this opportunity to engage with our team and contribute to the future of Chocolatey!

Learn More

Calling All Chocolatiers! Whipping Up Windows Automation with Chocolatey Central Management

Webinar from
Wednesday, 17 January 2024

We are delighted to announce the release of Chocolatey Central Management v0.12.0, featuring seamless Deployment Plan creation, time-saving duplications, insightful Group Details, an upgraded Dashboard, bug fixes, user interface polishing, and refined documentation. As an added bonus we'll have members of our Solutions Engineering team on-hand to dive into some interesting ways you can leverage the new features available!

Watch On-Demand
Chocolatey Community Coffee Break

Join the Chocolatey Team as we discuss all things Community, what we do, how you can get involved and answer your Chocolatey questions.

Watch The Replays
Chocolatey and Intune Overview

Webinar Replay from
Wednesday, 30 March 2022

At Chocolatey Software we strive for simple, and teaching others. Let us teach you just how simple it could be to keep your 3rd party applications updated across your devices, all with Intune!

Watch On-Demand
Chocolatey For Business. In Azure. In One Click.

Livestream from
Thursday, 9 June 2022

Join James and Josh to show you how you can get the Chocolatey For Business recommended infrastructure and workflow, created, in Azure, in around 20 minutes.

Watch On-Demand
The Future of Chocolatey CLI

Livestream from
Thursday, 04 August 2022

Join Paul and Gary to hear more about the plans for the Chocolatey CLI in the not so distant future. We'll talk about some cool new features, long term asks from Customers and Community and how you can get involved!

Watch On-Demand
Hacktoberfest Tuesdays 2022

Livestreams from
October 2022

For Hacktoberfest, Chocolatey ran a livestream every Tuesday! Re-watch Cory, James, Gary, and Rain as they share knowledge on how to contribute to open-source projects such as Chocolatey CLI.

Watch On-Demand

Downloads:

6,767

Downloads of v 3.73.0:

33

Last Update:

10 Apr 2024

Package Maintainer(s):

Software Author(s):

  • Truffle Security
  • TruffleHog Committers

Tags:

terminal cli credentials leaked security utility

TruffleHog

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

3.73.0 | Updated: 10 Apr 2024

Downloads:

6,767

Downloads of v 3.73.0:

33

Maintainer(s):

Software Author(s):

  • Truffle Security
  • TruffleHog Committers

TruffleHog 3.73.0

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

All Checks are Passing

3 Passing Tests


Validation Testing Passed


Verification Testing Passed

Details

Scan Testing Successful:

No detections found in any package files

Details
Learn More

Deployment Method: Individual Install, Upgrade, & Uninstall

To install TruffleHog, run the following command from the command line or from PowerShell:

>

To upgrade TruffleHog, run the following command from the command line or from PowerShell:

>

To uninstall TruffleHog, run the following command from the command line or from PowerShell:

>

Deployment Method:

NOTE

This applies to both open source and commercial editions of Chocolatey.

1. Enter Your Internal Repository Url

(this should look similar to https://community.chocolatey.org/api/v2/)


2. Setup Your Environment

1. Ensure you are set for organizational deployment

Please see the organizational deployment guide

2. Get the package into your environment

  • Open Source or Commercial:
    • Proxy Repository - Create a proxy nuget repository on Nexus, Artifactory Pro, or a proxy Chocolatey repository on ProGet. Point your upstream to https://community.chocolatey.org/api/v2/. Packages cache on first access automatically. Make sure your choco clients are using your proxy repository as a source and NOT the default community repository. See source command for more information.
    • You can also just download the package and push it to a repository Download

3. Copy Your Script

choco upgrade trufflehog -y --source="'INTERNAL REPO URL'" [other options]

See options you can pass to upgrade.

See best practices for scripting.

Add this to a PowerShell script or use a Batch script with tools and in places where you are calling directly to Chocolatey. If you are integrating, keep in mind enhanced exit codes.

If you do use a PowerShell script, use the following to ensure bad exit codes are shown as failures:


choco upgrade trufflehog -y --source="'INTERNAL REPO URL'" 
$exitCode = $LASTEXITCODE

Write-Verbose "Exit code was $exitCode"
$validExitCodes = @(0, 1605, 1614, 1641, 3010)
if ($validExitCodes -contains $exitCode) {
  Exit 0
}

Exit $exitCode

- name: Install trufflehog
  win_chocolatey:
    name: trufflehog
    version: '3.73.0'
    source: INTERNAL REPO URL
    state: present

See docs at https://docs.ansible.com/ansible/latest/modules/win_chocolatey_module.html.


chocolatey_package 'trufflehog' do
  action    :install
  source   'INTERNAL REPO URL'
  version  '3.73.0'
end

See docs at https://docs.chef.io/resource_chocolatey_package.html.


cChocoPackageInstaller trufflehog
{
    Name     = "trufflehog"
    Version  = "3.73.0"
    Source   = "INTERNAL REPO URL"
}

Requires cChoco DSC Resource. See docs at https://github.com/chocolatey/cChoco.


package { 'trufflehog':
  ensure   => '3.73.0',
  provider => 'chocolatey',
  source   => 'INTERNAL REPO URL',
}

Requires Puppet Chocolatey Provider module. See docs at https://forge.puppet.com/puppetlabs/chocolatey.


4. If applicable - Chocolatey configuration/installation

See infrastructure management matrix for Chocolatey configuration elements and examples.

Package Approved

This package was approved as a trusted package on 11 Apr 2024.

Description

Tool to find leaked credentials.

  • Over 600 credential detectors that support active verification against their respective APIs.
  • Native support for scanning GitHub, GitLab, filesystems, and S3.

tools\chocolateyInstall.ps1
$ErrorActionPreference = 'Stop'

$packageName = 'trufflehog'
$url64       = 'https://github.com/trufflesecurity/trufflehog/releases/download/v3.73.0/trufflehog_3.73.0_windows_amd64.tar.gz'
$checksum64  = 'dedb51876a1b60513c0010b486c3ba956bb5c7e76c88081869bb6b78b6cdafd6'

$toolsDir = (Split-Path -parent $MyInvocation.MyCommand.Definition)

$packageArgs = @{
  packageName    = $packageName
  url64          = $url64
  checksum64     = $checksum64
  checksumType64 = 'sha256'
  unzipLocation   = "$toolsDir\trufflehog.tar"
}



Install-ChocolateyZipPackage @packageArgs

Get-ChocolateyUnzip -FileFullPath "$toolsDir\trufflehog.tar" -Destination $toolsDir

Log in or click on link to see number of positives.

In cases where actual malware is found, the packages are subject to removal. Software sometimes has false positives. Moderators do not necessarily validate the safety of the underlying software, only that a package retrieves software from the official distribution point and/or validate embedded software against official distribution point (where distribution rights allow redistribution).

Chocolatey Pro provides runtime protection from possible malware.

Add to Builder Version Downloads Last Updated Status
TruffleHog 3.72.0 35 Wednesday, April 3, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.71.2 34 Thursday, March 28, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.71.1 23 Tuesday, March 26, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.71.0 27 Friday, March 22, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.70.3 25 Wednesday, March 20, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.70.2 26 Monday, March 18, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.70.1 25 Saturday, March 16, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.70.0 22 Friday, March 15, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.69.0 39 Friday, March 8, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.68.5 19 Thursday, March 7, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.68.4 36 Saturday, March 2, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.68.3 22 Wednesday, February 28, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.68.2 31 Saturday, February 24, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.68.1 17 Saturday, February 24, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.68.0 29 Wednesday, February 21, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.7 23 Tuesday, February 20, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.6 39 Tuesday, February 13, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.5 41 Thursday, February 8, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.4 29 Tuesday, February 6, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.3 11 Tuesday, February 6, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.2 23 Monday, February 5, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.1 25 Sunday, February 4, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.67.0 23 Friday, February 2, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.66.3 29 Thursday, February 1, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.66.2 23 Tuesday, January 30, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.66.1 23 Monday, January 29, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.66.0 12 Monday, January 29, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.65.0 29 Friday, January 26, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.64.0 31 Tuesday, January 23, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.11 24 Monday, January 22, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.10 41 Wednesday, January 17, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.9 31 Sunday, January 14, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.8 39 Monday, January 8, 2024 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.7 66 Saturday, December 23, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.6 19 Friday, December 22, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.5 30 Tuesday, December 19, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.4 33 Friday, December 15, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.3 26 Thursday, December 14, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.2 71 Tuesday, December 5, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.2-rc0 21 Tuesday, November 21, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.1 64 Monday, November 20, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.63.0 36 Friday, November 17, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.62.1 78 Tuesday, October 31, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.62.0 32 Monday, October 30, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.61.0 27 Saturday, October 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.60.4 32 Thursday, October 26, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.60.3 25 Wednesday, October 25, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.60.2 29 Tuesday, October 24, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.60.1 58 Wednesday, October 18, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.60.0 34 Monday, October 16, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.59.0 51 Monday, October 2, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.58.0 27 Monday, October 2, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.57.0 55 Saturday, September 23, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.56.1 48 Friday, September 15, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.56.0 34 Thursday, September 14, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.55.1 43 Monday, September 11, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.55.0 21 Monday, September 11, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.54.4 31 Friday, September 8, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.54.3 54 Friday, September 1, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.54.2 37 Friday, September 1, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.54.1 43 Wednesday, August 30, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.54.0 37 Monday, August 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.53.0 46 Wednesday, August 23, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.52.1 54 Thursday, August 17, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.51.0 41 Thursday, August 17, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.50.0 34 Wednesday, August 16, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.49.0 38 Wednesday, August 16, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.48.0 46 Friday, August 11, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.47.0 44 Wednesday, August 9, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.46.3 60 Wednesday, August 2, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.46.2 38 Tuesday, August 1, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.46.1 35 Monday, July 31, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.46.0 23 Monday, July 31, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.45.3 40 Friday, July 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.45.2 28 Thursday, July 27, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.45.1 40 Wednesday, July 26, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.45.0 30 Tuesday, July 25, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.44.0 72 Wednesday, July 12, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.43.0 68 Wednesday, July 5, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.42.0 60 Wednesday, June 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.41.1 45 Monday, June 26, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.40.0 69 Wednesday, June 14, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.39.0 70 Thursday, June 1, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.38.0 25 Thursday, June 1, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.37.0 25 Friday, June 2, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.36.0 73 Thursday, May 18, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.35.0 26 Thursday, May 18, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.34.0 66 Tuesday, May 9, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.33.0 89 Wednesday, April 26, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.32.2 36 Tuesday, April 25, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.32.1 38 Friday, April 21, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.32.0 41 Thursday, April 20, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.31.6 54 Thursday, April 13, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.31.5 43 Wednesday, April 12, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.31.4 49 Thursday, April 6, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.31.3 48 Tuesday, April 4, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.31.2 55 Tuesday, March 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.31.1 24 Tuesday, March 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.31.0 30 Tuesday, March 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.30.0 37 Tuesday, March 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.29.1 73 Friday, March 10, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.29.0 37 Wednesday, March 8, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.28.7 49 Friday, March 3, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.28.6 39 Thursday, March 2, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.28.5 32 Wednesday, March 1, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.28.4 40 Tuesday, February 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.28.3 28 Tuesday, February 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.28.2 49 Sunday, February 26, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.28.0 44 Wednesday, February 22, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.27.1 92 Saturday, February 11, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.27.0 28 Saturday, February 11, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.26.0 66 Saturday, January 28, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.25.4 40 Thursday, January 26, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.25.3 33 Wednesday, January 25, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.25.2 88 Saturday, January 14, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.25.1 35 Thursday, January 12, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.25.0 25 Wednesday, January 11, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.24.0 43 Tuesday, January 10, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.23.1 52 Saturday, January 7, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.23.0 32 Friday, January 6, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.21.1 26 Friday, January 6, 2023 Approved
TruffleHog 3.21.0 92 Wednesday, December 21, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.20.0 65 Friday, December 16, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.19.0 79 Friday, December 9, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.18.0 97 Tuesday, November 22, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.17.0 39 Tuesday, November 15, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.16.4 48 Wednesday, November 9, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.16.3 39 Wednesday, November 2, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.16.2 35 Wednesday, November 2, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.16.1 39 Friday, October 28, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.16.0 37 Wednesday, October 26, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.15.1 36 Tuesday, October 25, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.15 38 Monday, October 24, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.15.0 32 Monday, October 24, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.14.0 33 Wednesday, October 12, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.10.3 43 Monday, September 5, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.10.2 46 Friday, September 2, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.10.1 31 Friday, September 2, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.10.0 33 Tuesday, August 30, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.9.0 38 Thursday, August 25, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.8.0 34 Wednesday, August 24, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.7.3 39 Monday, August 8, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.7.2 36 Wednesday, August 3, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.7.0 41 Tuesday, August 2, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.11 37 Tuesday, July 26, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.10 41 Monday, July 25, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.9 40 Wednesday, July 20, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.8 37 Friday, July 8, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.7 41 Friday, June 24, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.6 41 Tuesday, June 21, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.4 45 Tuesday, June 14, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.3 38 Tuesday, June 14, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.2 48 Thursday, June 9, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.1 50 Wednesday, May 25, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.6.0 50 Tuesday, May 24, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.5.0 55 Wednesday, May 18, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.4.5 53 Friday, May 13, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.4.4 54 Wednesday, May 11, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.4.3 79 Thursday, May 5, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.4.2 43 Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.4.1 59 Sunday, May 1, 2022 Approved
TruffleHog 3.2.3 114 Tuesday, April 12, 2022 Approved

This package has no dependencies.

Discussion for the TruffleHog Package

Ground Rules:

  • This discussion is only about TruffleHog and the TruffleHog package. If you have feedback for Chocolatey, please contact the Google Group.
  • This discussion will carry over multiple versions. If you have a comment about a particular version, please note that in your comments.
  • The maintainers of this Chocolatey Package will be notified about new comments that are posted to this Disqus thread, however, it is NOT a guarantee that you will get a response. If you do not hear back from the maintainers after posting a message below, please follow up by using the link on the left side of this page or follow this link to contact maintainers. If you still hear nothing back, please follow the package triage process.
  • Tell us what you love about the package or TruffleHog, or tell us what needs improvement.
  • Share your experiences with the package, or extra configuration or gotchas that you've found.
  • If you use a url, the comment will be flagged for moderation until you've been whitelisted. Disqus moderated comments are approved on a weekly schedule if not sooner. It could take between 1-5 days for your comment to show up.
comments powered by Disqus